County Profiles
County Profiles

Atlanta Census Statistics

Area: 132.4 sq miles
County: Fulton
Founded: 1837
Population: 432,427 (2011)
Unemployment rate: 10.4% (Feb 2013)

Atlanta Counties

North West Counties North East Counties North Side Counties Metro South Counties
Cherokee Gwinnett N. Fulton Coweta
Cobb Hall Fulton Clayton
Douglas Dekalb Forsyth Fayette
Paulding Rockdale   Henry
      S. Fulton

County Profiles

Atlanta Counties MapThere are 14 metro area counties that encompass over 50 municipalities and the metro area spans nearly 50 miles in all directions. So where do you start? It is important to know that Atlanta can be divided into four distinct, geographic regions. The counties (and the cities) within each region are considered part of the metro area. The actual City of Atlanta is located in Fulton County, with a portion falling in DeKalb.

atlanta county profiles

Counties in Atlanta

Are you moving to Atlanta? Want to learn more about your new hometown? You have found your one-stop relocation resource! Atlanta.com, Atlantas' ultimate community directory, has created this online service dedicated to making your move to Atlanta easier. We can help you through your entire moving process. Our online directory can educate you about your housing options. Help you decide how to choose a mortgage. Learn about your new school district. Find a doctor and hospital that is right for you. Even help you get acquainted with your particular region of Atlanta.

Newcomers are often surprised that Metro Atlanta is made up of so many distinct, yet cohesive counties, cities & neighborhoods.

atlanta city pass
Click here to purchase a CityPass today