2012 PGA Masters Tournament

The 76th annual Masters Tournament will take place in the city of Augusta Georgia at Augusta National Golf Club April 5-8, 2012. The Masters Tournament is the first of four major PGA Tournaments each year. The Masters is an invitation only event and therefore the smallest field of the four majors , around 90 players are invited to participate. Charl Schwartzel won the 2011 Masters. Since 2000 both Tiger Woods ('01, '02, '05) and Phil Mickelson ('04, '06, '10) have won three Master's each. Angel Cabrera won in 2009, Trevor Immelman in 2008, Zach Johnson in 2007, Mike Weir in 2003 and Vijay Singh in 2000. Tiger won his first tournament in 1997. Jack Nicklaus has won the most tournaments, six between 1963 and 1986.

Winners of past Masters Tournaments get a lifetime invitation to the event. Besides the large money purse, the winner of the Masters is also awarded a distinctive green jacket. By tradition, the winner of the previous Masters tournament awards the jacket to the current years winner. Augusta is located about 150 miles east of Atlanta GA . According to the 2010 census the population of Augusta is 195,844, making it the 2nd largest city and as well as the 2nd largest metro area in all of Georgia. For more information about the tournament visit masters.com . If you plan to stay in Georgia after the tournament and are looking for a place to stay, check out one of the many hotels in Buckhead Atlanta or any of the Gother Atlanta Hotels throughout the city. For more information about the author, City Guru, please visit my Google+ profile page.