Counties in Atlanta

There are 14 metro area counties that encompass over 50 municipalities and the metro area spans nearly 50 miles in all directions. So where do you start? It is important to know that Atlanta can be divided into four distinct, geographic regions. The counties (and the cities) within each region are considered part of the metro area. The actual City of Atlanta is located in Fulton County, with a portion falling in DeKalb.

County Profiles

Are you moving to Atlanta? Want to learn more about your new hometown? You have found your one-stop relocation resource!, Atlantas' ultimate community directory, has created this online service dedicated to making your move to Atlanta easier. We can help you through your entire moving process. Our online directory can educate you about your housing options. Help you decide how to choose a mortgage. Learn about your new school district. Find a doctor and hospital that is right for you. Even help you get acquainted with your particular region of Atlanta.

Newcomers are often surprised that Metro Atlanta is made up of so many distinct, yet cohesive counties, cities & neighborhoods.

Northwest of Atlanta and directly north of Cobb County lies Cherokee County, one of the metro area's fastest growing counties. Between 1980 and 1990, Cherokee's population increased 75 percent. The last decade brought even more growth. Population sits today at 140,000 with more newcomers on the way. Cherokee's growth can be attributed to its high quality of life.

Cobb County is a thriving blend of the best Atlanta has to offer: luxurious residential neighborhoods, quaint town squares, gleaming office parks, historic sites, amusement parks, arts and entertainment, and excellent educational opportunities.

Gentle, rolling hills... family-oriented, hometown atmosphere... excellent schools and health care... all this and more awaits you in Douglas County. Located just 17 miles west of downtown Atlanta, Douglas County has the perfect blend of small town charm and big city allure.

Travel to the far northwestern portion of metro Atlanta and you will discover Paulding County, where small town life is combined with big city convenience. Located just 40 minutes from Hartsfield-Jackson Atlanta International Airport, this community of 67,000 is one of metro Atlanta's new choices for quality development.

Bordering Rockdale County to the north is one of the fastest growing counties in the state, Gwinnett County. The incredible growth of this county is due primarily to its strategic location (near I-85 and I-20) and its economic viability. Thousands of new jobs are created each year through Gwinnett's many commercial office and high tech developments.

To the far north of Gwinnett (and the metro area) is Gainesville/Hall County. Hall County is approximately 50 miles north of downtown Atlanta via I-985 and I-85, but a surprising amount of commuters make the trek because of the quality of life the area offers.

DeKalb County is the most urban county, with a portion of the city of Atlanta falling into it. It has a definite international flair, and is the most ethnically and culturally diverse county in the metro area.

East of DeKalb County you will find one of the metro area's little secrets: Rockdale County. Many people do not fully realize the high quality of life that Rockdale County residents enjoy. The county seat of Conyers combines rapid development with small-town charm.

Travel up GA-400 and you will discover Roswell and Alpharetta, an extremely high-growth area offering a family-oriented, upper-scale environment.

Fulton County


Fulton County can be divided into three regions: South, North and for lack of a better term, Central. Central Fulton County is basically... the City of Atlanta. The city itself has a population of 425,200. Peachtree Street may be its most famous street - it certainly is the most popular name for a street. In fact, there are over 50 streets in Atlanta with "Peachtree" in their names. Peachtree Battle Road, Peachtree-Dunwoody Road, Peachtree can be rather confusing.

Ever wonder where some of those wonderfully rustic country town scenes from the movies "Fried Green Tomatoes" and "Driving Miss Daisy" were filmed? It's Coweta County, a place where historic homes lining numerous residential streets meet an active, diversified industrial base, with more than 80 industries employing more than 8,000 people.

Clayton County is marked by its variety of people, places, events and activities. A drive down a country road offers a look at family farms, country club communities, single and duplex family homes, manufactured homes and apartments. For some residents, Clayton County is a refuge from their jobs in downtown Atlanta. For others, it is the land of opportunity for their local business or employment. For everyone, Clayton County is a relaxed and informal setting, with a signature of Southern charm hard to duplicate.

In the heart of the Metro South region lies Fayette County, a vibrant community that offers a high quality of life for newcomers and residents alike. Fayette County's excellent school system, advanced health care services and multiple recreational facilities, combined with a wide array of housing options, make it a very appealing newcomer destination.

Henry County, Georgia, is an area blessed with natural beauty, high quality of life, rapid business development, and a progressive future.

Affordable housing, recreational activities and big business characterize South Fulton County. Defined as the portion of the City of Atlanta and unincorporated Fulton County that lies south of I-20, South Fulton is made up of 125,000 acres of countryside and cityscapes.